L.A. Guns
Shrinking Violet [Deluxe Reissue]

2010, Favored Nations
Hard Rock

Edizione nuova di pacca per "Shrinking Violet" degli L.A. Guns
Review by Daniele Carlucci - Publish on: 16/05/10

Favored Nations, the label owned by Steve Vai, recently went a bit far from its priorities and decided to promote a slightly different kind of music, like some hard & heavy bands. Thus they founded their new division Jibboom. As a result of their recent activities, we get a reissue of "Shrinking Violet", the seventh L.A. Guns album, originally released in 1999 and produced by former Guns N' Roses' guitarist Gilby Clarke.

This edition consists of the original nine songs, which have been fully remastered (though we don't find "It's Hard", the cover version of Led Zeppelin's "How Many More Times" and "Decide" anymore, they've been added as live bonus tracks), and of five bonus tracks recorded at San Angelo's Deadhorse (Texas), on the 16th of July 1999. We cannot forget that "Shrinking Violet" was the only full length of this Los Angeles based band recorded with vocalist Jizzy Pearl, who has recently rejoined forces with his band mates, that's why the reason behind this reissue becomes more logic. So, even if this release does not belong to the golden years of L.A. Guns, you'll nevertheless have the chance to rediscover an album which you will surely appreciate. Hard rock, glam, sleaze, hair metal and blues: all these styles are mixed and put together in this band's typical style. Highlights of the disc are the opener "Girl You Turn Me On", an aggressive and enthralling song characterized by continuous variations, "Dreamtime", a soft and stirring track, the chameleon-like "Cherries", which shifts from touching strophes to wild and unchained refrains, and "Bad Whiskey", an easy-going blues that hits the nail on the head in spite of its simplicity. As for the unreleased material, we find five of the band's major hits performed by a close-knit line up that seems to have fun on stage. I can't help but quote the wonderful "The Ballad Of Jayne", probably their most famous song, and the overwhelming "One More Reason", whose videoclip was broadcasted night and day on MTV at the end of the 80's. Moreover, the brand new edition of "Shrinking Violet" shows a new graphic concept consisting of a different cover and digipack packaging, which assure a better aesthetic result.

Well, I can finally say that this new edition of L.A. Guns seventh album convinces outright, appealing to the new live tracks and its nice functional packaging. "Shrinking Violet [Deluxe Reissue]" will be surely appreciated by long standing fans and will allow anyone who found his home in hard rock music to discover this great band.

01. Girl You Turn Me On

02. Shrinking Violet

03. Dreamtime

04. Barbed Wire

05. I'll Be There

06. California

07. Cherries

08. Big Lil' Thing

09. Bad Whiskey


Bonus Tracks:


10. Decide (Live)

11. Rip And Tear (Live)

12. Never Enough (Live)

13. The Ballad Of Jayne (Live)

14. One More Reason (Live)

Marathon: Mark Kelly

Architects - Live at the Royal Albert Hall - Londra 21/11/20

Videointervista - Moonlight Haze

Iron Maiden - Nights Of The Dead - Legacy Of The Beast, Live In Mexico City

L'angolo oscuro #13

Ellefson: David Ellefson